An award ceremony to felicitate the students selected in Punjab Circle

26 March (KAWALJIT SINGH JANDIALA)- An award ceremony to felicitate the students selected in Punjab Circle in the first edition of Deen Dayal SPARSH (Scholarship for Promotion of Aptitude and Research in Stamps as a Hobby) Yojana 2017-18 was held at o/o Chief Postmaster General , Punjab Circle, Sector 17, Chandigarh. Dr. Navdeep Goyal, Chairperson, Department of Physics Panjab University, Chandigarh was the Chief Guest. Scholarship disbursement function was linked through video conferencing with the main function at New Delhi being chaired by the Hon’ble MoS (I/C) for communication, Sh. Manoj Sinha.Philately is the hobby of collection and study of Postage stamps. It includes seeking, locating, acquiring, organizing, cataloguing, displaying, storing and maintaining the stamps or related products on thematic areas. Philately is called the king of hobbies because stamp collection as a hobby has lot of educational benefits.  In order to increase the reach of Philately, Department of Posts had launched Scholarship program for school children called Deen Dayal SPARSH Yojana on 03.11.2017. Under this Scheme it was proposed to award annual scholarship to children of Class VI to IX having good academic record and also pursuing Philately as a hobby through a competitive selection process. Selection under this Yojana was made on the basis of evaluation of Project work on Philately and performance in Philately Quiz conducted by the Punjab Circle at Divisional level on 11.01.2018. In Punjab Circle, approximately 1000 students participated and out of this 40 students (10 from each Class VI to IX) have been selected for the scholarship award of Rs 6000/-. This Scheme aimed at encouraging the hobby of Stamp collection among young generation in a sustainable manner that can reinforce and supplement the academic curriculum in addition to providing a hobby that can help them relax and de-stress. Projects were beautifully made , with lot of innovation and creativity by the children. They were awarded My Stamp, Certificate and scholarship amount by the Chief Guest, Dr. Navdeep Goyal.To pay tribute to Stephen Hawking (1942-2018), a well-known Physicist, cosmologist and an author a special cover was also released. His work on the origin and structure of the Universe from the Big Bang to the Black holes, the theoretical prediction called Hawking Radiation revolutionized the understanding of the subject. Department Of Posts is pleased to honour his legacy by releasing a Special Cover and Special cancellation on Stephen Hawking.
The five students of DPS Amritsar are selected for this scholarship Award Rs 6000/names of the students are Divjot Kaur, Gursahib Singh, Nishit Roy, Priyanshu Vasudev and Parth Anand
Share on Google Plus

About Jaswinder Azad

    Blogger Comment
    Facebook Comment


Post a Comment