26th Children’s Science Congress organized at HMV Collegiate School

Jalandhar November 27 (Jaswinder Azad)- HMV Collegiate Sr. Sec. School organized 26th Children’s Science Congress in collaboration with DST, Govt. of India. This programme was organized under the auspices of Principal Prof. Dr. (Mrs.) Ajay Sareen and benign support of school coordinator Mrs. Meenakshi Sayal. The focal theme of this science congress was ‘Science, Technology and Innovation for a Clean, Green and Healthy Nation’. Around 15 schools presenting research based projects on various topics related to science and technology. The schools exhibited their scientific skills and innovation with full zeal and zest. Principal Prof. Dr. (Mrs.) Ajay Sareen welcomed the special guest of the event S. Sukhbir Singh Ahluwalia, Registrar, IK Gujral PTU. Mr. Sanjeevan Singh Dadhwal, Distt. Coordinator of Children Science Congress, Mr. Rakesh Sharma, Academic Coordinator DST Chandigarh, Sh. Santokh Singh Patara Committee Member, Distt. Organizing Committee also presided over the event. Mr. Sanjeevan Dadhwal told students that the purpose of Children Science Congress is to encourage children’s sense of discovery by trying out various possible alternatives and arriving at an optimum solution using experimentation. Sh. Rakesh Sharma, Academic Coordinator told students about the evaluation criteria and also encouraged the students to stimulate scientific temper. Hon’ble Guest S. Sukhbir Singh Ahluwalia in his address told students about the value of team work and originality of ideas. He also insisted that students should learn to work in a team. Thereafter, Principal Dr. (Mrs.) Ajay Sareen appreciated the efforts of the students to be scientists and researchers at such a young age. She further said that the greatness of humanity is not in being human but in being humane. The report of the result was presented based on data collection and interpretation by doing continuous work for two months. Research work of students was adjudged by Sh. Jatinder Tiwari, Coordinator Hoshiarpur, Sh. Gurmeet Singh, Coordinator Distt. Kapurthala, Sh. Santokh Singh Patara, Committee Member. Principal Dr. (Mrs.) Ajay Sareen honoured the evaluators. The members of organizing committee honoured and thanked worthy Principal Prof. Dr. (Mrs.) Sareen. Thereafter, Mrs. Meenakshi Sayal was acclaimed by the organizing committee. The students of Police DAV Public School, Jalandhar Cantt bagged first prize in Junior category. DSSD Sr.Sec. School, Ivy World School, Lawrence International School got second positions. In senior category, DRV DAV Cent. Public School, Phillaur won first prize while Lawrence Int. School, Jalandhar, Police DAV Public School, HMV Collegiate Sr. Sec. School, Sain Dass A.S.Sr.Sec. School stood at second position. The students were awarded with trophies and certificates. The winners were declared to be qualified for state level. Mrs. Meenakshi Sayal congratulated the winners for their commendable performance. She also thanked the organizing committee members and all the supporting team. Faculty members from school were also present. Participation certificates were also awarded to the school faculty members for organizing the event. Stage was conducted by Mrs. Jaspreet Kaur of English Deptt.

Leave a Reply