HMV bestowed with Excellence in Higher Education Award

Jalandhar November 1 (Jaswinder Azad)- Hans Raj Mahila Maha Vidyalaya, the premier institute of North India, has been awarded with prestigious “’FICCI Higher Education Excellence Award’,” which aims to celebrate and honor educational institutes for their initiatives that have changed the course of Higher Education in India. Principal Dr. (Mrs.) Ajay Sareen received the award from Mr. R Subhramanayam, Secretary-Higher Education, Govt. of India. The event organised by FICCI, India in collaboration with the Ministry of Human Resource Development, GoI and Ministry of Commerce & Industry, Government of India was inaugurated by Union Commerce, Industry and Civil Aviation Minister, Mr. Suresh Prabhu.
Among the dignitaries present were Prof. Anil Sahastrabudhe, Chairman, All India Council for Technical Education; Mr Pawan Aggarwal, CEO, Food Safety and Standards Authority of India and Ms Sobha Mishra Ghosh, Assistant Secretary General, FICCI. The institution was rewarded for its achievements in the Higher Education Sector and also received a special mention for its contributions in Institutional Social Responsibility by the jury.
HMV was shortlisted from about hundred applicants in a three stage screening process. Upon shortlisting, HMV was called for presentation and interactive session. After a one hour long interaction, HMV was selected for the award presentation. The 11 member jury consisted of eminent educationists including Prof. Anil Sahastrabudhe, Chairman, AICTE, Dr. Furqan Qamar, Secretary General, All India Universities; Dr. Darlie Koshy, Director General. IAM and ATDC; Dr. V. Raghunthan, CEO, GMR Foundation; Mr. Sudeesh Venkatesh, CPO, Azim Premji Foundation, Dr. DV Shastry, Executive Director, GAIL India Ltd. Mr. Arvind Pachhapur, South Asia Head, Clarvate among others.
Principal Dr. Ajay Sareen said that Hans Raj Mahila Maha Vidyalaya, Jalandhar has become the first college of India to receive this award as previously the said awards have been given to universities and research institutes like IITs, NITs and Universities. On this occasion, Prof. Dr. (Mrs.) Ajay Sareen congratulated the faculty and staff members and said that all this is possible because of guidance of DAV mentors and continuous efforts of faculty members.

Leave a Reply