‘Shagufta 2019’ organized at HMV Collegiate Sr. Sec. School

Shagufta 2019Jalandhar August 3 (Jaswinder Azad)- Abundant with vibrancy and vigour, the senior students of HMV Collegiate School hosted the Freshers’ party ‘Shagufta 2019’ to welcome the neophytes to the school under the visionary guidance of Principal Prof. Dr. (Mrs.) Ajay Sareen. The event was convened by Mrs. Meenakshi Sayal (Co-ordinator School) and Mrs. Urvashi Mishra (Dean Student Council) and they accorded an adoring welcome to Chief Guest of the event, Principal Prof. Dr. (Mrs.) Ajay Sareen. The programme began with the lighting of lamp to invoke the blessings of Almighty followed by recital of DAV Gaan.
Explaining the meaning of Shagufta which is a prayer to blossom, flourish and progress, Principal Dr. Ajay Sareen inspired the students to work hard and lead pious lives so as to bring glory to the name of their parents, the institution and the country. She emphasized that it is through amalgamation of traditions and modernism, the organization has achieved the status of largest non-profitable organization serving the cause of education. She added that women have the capability to achieve anything by putting their best efforts into the task. Madam Principal said that apart from imparting academic qualification, the college aims at holistic development of the students by inculcating the spirit of social responsibility among them. She concluded by wishing the best to the new entrants and applauded the efforts of the organizing committee.
The vivacious students put up a magnificent show displaying their prowess with elan and elegance in the form of dances, bhangra, songs and poems. The new students rocked the stage with their enthusiastic participation in the modelling rounds. The glamour and capability of students were adjudged by Mrs. Navroop Kaur (Dean Youth Welfare and HOD Punjabi), Dr. Neelam Sharma (Dean ) and Mrs. Meenu Kohli (Co-Dean Youth Welfare). Grabbing the spotlight Km. Ritika bagged the title of Miss Freshers. Km. Manreet grabbed the positon of First Runner-Up and Km. Jashanpreet became the Second Runner –Up. Km. Tanvi was conferred with the title of Miss Gravity, Km. Payal with the title of Miss Magnate and Km. Zoya won the title of Miss Charismatic. The winners were crowned and presented with gifts by Dr. Ajay Sareen and the faculty members.
To conclude the event Mrs. Meenakshi Sayal gave the vote of thanks. The stage was conducted by the students namely Muskan, Prabhsimran, Surbhi and Gurleen. Dr. Ramnita Saini Sharda, Mrs. Veena Arora, Mrs. Nita Malik, Dr. Rakhi Mehta and the faculty members of the school graced the occasion with their presence.

Leave a Reply